How To Deactivate or Delete your Apple ID from a computer, iPhone or iPad – The Apple ID is the place where all the information on our devices is stored, an account necessary for an iPhone, iPad, Mac or Apple Watch to work.
If you have changed your Apple device for one of another brand and you no longer need the Apple ID, you have two options, deactivate your Apple account or permanently delete it.
There are two different steps, the first option is intended to deactivate your account from a device before erasing it and selling or transferring it to another person, but you will keep all your account information for the future.
If you choose to delete your Apple ID, you will delete your account and all information associated with it.
How to delete an Apple account
Deleting our Apple account is a definitive step that will completely eliminate our data . Apple allows us to delete our account at any time and will verify the entire process to avoid false or erroneous requests, so you must confirm this process, which can take up to 7 days.
- Go to Apple’s privacy website and sign in with the ID you want to delete.
- You will access a panel with several options, at the bottom is Delete account.
- Click on “Request to delete your account”.
- Apple will walk you through the process and tell you everything that goes into deleting an ID.
- At the bottom of the dropdown, choose the reason why you want to delete your Apple account.
- Tap Continue and confirm your decision.
The process for deleting your Apple ID will have already started. Apple will give us a code with which we can cancel the deletion at any time simply by contacting its technical support, we have a period of about 7 days.
What does deleting an Apple account mean?
Before proceeding with the elimination, you should know that this means that you will no longer be able to do many things , Apple exposes them on its privacy website:
- You will not be able to access Apple services or your media and App Store purchases.
- Your photos, videos, and documents stored in iCloud will be permanently deleted.
- You won’t receive messages sent to your account through iMessage, FaceTime, or iCloud Mail.
- You won’t be able to sign in or use services like iCloud, Apple Books, the App Store, Apple Pay, Messages, FaceTime, Find My, or any other apps or services you use with your Apple ID.
- Your data associated with Apple services will be permanently deleted.
- If you’re enrolled in the iPhone Renewal Program, you must continue to make payments for your device.
- Removal does not cancel repairs or Apple Store orders. However, any appointments you have scheduled in the Apple Store will be cancelled. Additionally, open Apple Care cases will be permanently closed and unavailable once the account is deleted.
How to deactivate an Apple account from a device
Another option if you are going to stop using an Apple device is to deactivate your account for that particular device . This is ideal for removing all data from your device and a required step before selling your iPhone, iPad, Mac, or Apple Watch.
How to deactivate an Apple ID on iPhone or iPad
This is the process to deactivate the Apple ID of an iPhone or iPad :
- Go into the iPhone or iPad Settings.
- At the top, tap on your name.
- Scroll down and tap Sign Out.
- Enter your Apple ID password
- Tap on Deactivate.
How to deactivate an Apple ID from Apple Watch
In the Apple Watch the process is simpler, you just have to unlink it from the iPhone . You should keep Apple Watch close to iPhone at all times while unpairing the two devices.
- On your iPhone open the Watch app.
- Tap All Clocks in the top left corner.
- Tap the information button to the right of Apple Watch.
- Select Unpair Apple Watch.
- Confirm that you want to unpair your Apple Watch, and enter your Apple ID password if necessary.
How to deactivate an Apple ID on Mac
From the Mac, the process is similar to what we find on the iPhone or iPad , follow these steps:
- Go into System Preferences, you can do it from the menu.
- At the top right, tap Apple ID.
- Click on Overview.
- Tap Sign out and confirm the process.
Following these steps you can permanently delete or deactivate your Apple account from any device in just a few minutes . In addition, you also know the consequences of doing so.
- How to Transfer Spotify Playlists to Apple Music
- How to install Wordle app iPhone or iPad
- How To Share a Playlist on Apple Music